Australia to play friendly matches against Malaysia and Petaling Jaya City FC ahead of 2020 AFC U-23

Australia have announced the list of probables who will represent the nation in the 2020 AFC U-23 Championship qualifiers set to begin in Cambodia on March 22 and will play friendlies in Malaysia in the build-up to the event.

"The Socceroos will be based in Malaysia before the tournament and will undergo a week-long preparation in Kuala Lumpur before flying out to Cambodia."

Head coach Graham Arnold has named a 24-member squad which will have to reduced to 23 before the start of the tournament. The Socceroos will be based in Malaysia before the tournament and will undergo a week-long preparation in Kuala Lumpur before flying out to Cambodia.

They will play friendly matches against Malaysian Super League side Petaling Jaya City FC on March 14 and the Malaysia U-22 national team on March 17 at the Shah Alam Stadium before moving to Phnom Penh where they will open their AFC U-23 Championship qualification campaign in Group H against the hosts on March 22.

Australia will also face Chinese Taipei and Korea Republic on March 24 and 26 respectively with the winners of the group qualifying for the tournament to be held in Thailand in January next year.

“The week that we have together in Kuala Lumpur will be vital in preparing us for the challenges that we will face in Phnom Penh, and we certainly appreciate the support of all the clubs that are releasing their players to participate in what is an important tournament for Australia,” said Arnold.

“While we are in Malaysia we will develop our key principles of play and focus on how we believe we can successfully navigate Group H and secure our place at next year’s AFC U-23 Championship in Thailand,” the coach added.

Australia’s 24-member preliminary squad for 2020 AFC U-23 Championship qualifiers

Nathaniel Atkinson (Melbourne City FC), Keanu Baccus (Western Sydney Wanderers), George Blackwood (Adelaide United FC), Jake Brimmer (Perth Glory FC), Joseph Champness (Newcastle Jets FC), Nicholas D’Agostino (Brisbane Roar FC), Thomas Deng (Melbourne Victory FC), Denis Genreau (PEC Zwolle), Alex Gersbach (NAC Breda), Thomas Glover (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Holmes (St Mirren), John Koutroumbis (Newcastle Jets), Abraham Majok (Western Sydney Wanderers FC), Daniel Margush (Adelaide United FC), Riley McGree (Melbourne City FC), Tass Mourdoukoutas (Western Sydney Wanderers FC), Aiden O’Neill (Central Coast Mariners FC), Sebastian Pasquali (Ajax Amsterdam), Reno Piscopo (AC Renate), Harry Souttar (Stoke City), Ivan Vujica (Newcastle Jets), Lachlan Wales (Melbourne City FC), Pierce Waring (Cerezo Osaka), Brandon Wilson (Perth Glory FC)

Source: Fox Sports Asia

0 views0 comments

Level 6, QI Tower, PJ8, 23, Jalan Barat, Seksyen 8 Petaling Jaya, 46200 Petaling Jaya, Selangor.
Tel: 03-7967 9888


Stadium Petaling Jaya,
Jalan Stadium 7/15, Ss 7, 47301 Petaling Jaya, Selangor.

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

© All rights reserved by Petaling Jaya City FC